Department Awards 2007-2008


Teaching Awards

Dr. Jon Art received the 2008 UIC Inspire Award.

Dr. Norman Lieska again received numerous awards:

  • Raymond B. Allen (Golden Apple) Teaching Award for M1 teaching in AY07 (awarded by M2 class in AY08).
  • C. Thomas Bombeck Award for Excellence in Medical Student Teaching throughout the 4 years. (awarded by the Chicago Medical Student Council, April 2008).
  • COM official graduation hooder (selected by graduating Class of 2008, May 2008).
  • COM (all sites) nominee for the Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award (selected from student nominations from all UI-COM sites by the Faculty Awards Committee) - a national competition (one nominee per medical school).

Research Awards

Dr. Gerardo Morfini received an MBL Summer Research Fellowship for Summer 2008 at the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA.

Dr. Irina Calin-Jageman received the Chicago Chapter Society for Neuroscience Presentation Award, 2008.

Lisa Jungbauer was the poster winner in the Post Doc Category at the 2008 Neuroscience Day, hosted by The Brain Research Foundation.

Student Awards

Sarah Berth received a training grant award under Dr. Rasenick, titled Training Grant in the Neuroscience of Mental Health (T32MH067631) on 8/16/08.

Christina Floreani received the Dean's Scholar Award 2008. The chosen students are considered most outstanding in their program of study.

Nicole Jones received a training grant award under Dr. Solaro, entitled Training in Cellular Signaling in the Cardiovascular System (T32 HL07692-21) on 8/16/08.

Florin Vranceanu received the W.C. and May Preble Deiss Endowment for Biomedical Research. Those chosen are considered most outstanding in their program of study.

Other Awards

Dr. Scott Brady was the 2008 Keynote Lecture for The College of New Jersey Beta Beta Beta National Honor Society induction ceremony.

Dr. Rochelle Cohen received the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago Distinguished Faculty Award for 2008.

Dr. Frederick Merkel received an honoree of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons at the American Transplant Congress, held in Toronto, May 31-June 4, 2008. The honor was for being founder and past president of the society. I was filmed for a historical documentary regarding the start of transplantation in the United States.

Rebecca Conklin received the Provost's/Deiss Award Spring 2008. The chosen students are considered most outstanding in their program of study.

Lea Smucker received the 2008 UIC Award of Merit, a university-wide honor that, among other qualities, recognizes: overall excellence in all aspects of work performance; creativity in problem solving and initiative; and promotion of morale by leadership, teamwork, and enhancing work environment.

Change Text Size

Take a look at previous years' awards:

view 2007-2008 >
view 2008-2009 >




Congratulations to all our award winners!